PROGRAMS


Broken Concert

Plenum allows you to discover Early and Contemporary Music in fresh new ways in its program “Broken Concert”. Renaissance pieces by Josquin Desprez and Melchior Franck, which are traditional Recorder consort repertoire, flourish in a new contemporary-abstract environment. Through this antithesis the polyphony of the Renaissance and the complexity of free improvisation fuse organically. For each concert, PLENUM invites different guests to intervene and support, brake and caress the new bond of music genres in the old and new recorder consort.
PLENUM has had the pleasure to perform this program together with Katharina Ernst and Charlie Fischer.


Drawn In

Immerse, experience, lose yourself. 50 minutes of slow development, humming basses, spheric sounds. Seven bass recorders generate a warm atmosphere that invites the audience to immerse themselves within it. A game of extremes for the audience as for the musicians.


In Paradise

The various meanings/interpretations of the term paradise, as a garden on the one hand, as a heavenly sanctuary on the other, or even as paradise on earth, be it the Garden of Eden specifically or the sensualism of men and their desideratum for it or to comprehend the world via art, find its place within this program. All pieces circulate around this topic. Together with the mezzo-soprano Anna Clare Hauf, PLENUM connects thereby English Renaissance music of the 16th century with contemporary compositions by Pauline Oliveros, Burkhard Stangl and Gunther Schneider, which were commissioned by the ensemble.


6 : 1

The "1" stands for an "In Nomine", whos point of origin is the six part mass "Gloria tibi Trinitas" (around 1528) by John Taverner (around 1495–1545). The "6" stands für the six additional layers, which are newly written by the members of PLENUM. Six short compositions which refer to and deconstruct the "In Nomine"-base layer/tradition.


6-12-36

With „6-12-36“ PLENUM presents a new program that was developed for the concert series "open music" and the Haus der Architektur, Graz, Austria, as an exciting location. Lying down, sitting, standing, ... or walking through the room: the perception will not be limited in this concert, but will be stimulated anew. The audience can expect a comforting and slowly developing soundscape, that invites you to immerse yourself in it. But not only the manifold sound of the square bass recorders should be the center of attention, but also the perception of the room. PLENUM gives the audience the chance to listen to the piece from different listening-positions and to influence the listening-experience themselves.

PROGRAMME


Broken Concert

Plenum öffnet im Programm “Broken Concert” außergewöhnliche Freiräume um Alte und Zeitgenössischer Musik auf neue Weise zu entdecken. Renaissance-Werke von Josquin Desprez und Melchior Franck, die fixer Teil des traditionellen Repertoire des Blockflöten-Consorts sind, werden in eine zeitgenössisch-abstrakte Umgebung gesetzt und blühen gerade durch diese Erfrischung neu auf. In dieser Antithese verschmilzt die Polyphonie der Renaissance mit der Vielschichtigkeit der freien Improvisation. Für jedes Konzert lädt PLENUM einen Gast ein, der die entstehende Verbindung im gleichzeitig neuen und alten Blockflöten-Consort bricht und interveniert, unterstützt und schmeichelt.
PLENUM hatte bisher die Freude dieses Programm gemeinsam mit Charlie Fischer und Katharina Ernst aufzuführen.


Drawn In

Eintauchen, wahrnehmen, versinken. 50 Minuten langsame Entwicklungen, wummernde Bässe, sphärische Klänge. Sieben Bassblockflöten generieren eine wohlige Fläche in der das Publikum zum Versinken eingeladen wird. Ein Spiel mit Extremen für das Publikum als auch für die MusikerInnen selbst.


In Paradise

Die unterschiedlichen (Be)deutungen des Begriffs Paradies, als Garten einerseits, als himmlisches Refugium andererseits, oder auch das Paradies auf Erden, sei es nun der Garten Eden konkret oder die Sinnlichkeit des Menschen und das Bedürfnis danach, mit Kunst die Welt zu begreifen, finden ihren Platz in diesem Programm. Alle Stücke kreisen dezidiert um dieses Thema. Gemeinsam mit der Mezzosporanistin Anna Clare Hauf verbindet PLENUM dabei Musik der englischen Renaissance des 16. Jahrhunderts mit aktuellen Kompositionen von Pauline Oliveros, Burkhard Stangl und Gunther Schneider, die eigens für das Ensemble entstanden.


6 : 1

Die "1" steht für ein In Nomine, dessen eigentlicher Ausgangspunkt die um 1528 komponierte sechsstimmige Messe Gloria tibi Trinitas von John Taverner (um 1495–1545) ist. Die "6" steht nun für sechs weitere Schichten, die von den MusikerInnen des Ensembles PLENUM neu geschrieben werden. Sechs kurze Kompositionen, die sich auf die "In Nomine" Grundschicht/Tradition beziehen, diese dekonstruieren und an ihr kratzen.


6-12-36

Mit „6-12-36“ präsentiert PLENUM ein neues Programm, das speziell für die Konzertreihe „open music“ und das Grazer Haus der Architektur als spannende Location entstanden ist. Liegend, sitzend, stehend ... oder durch den Raum wandelnd: der Wahrnehmung sollen bei diesem Konzert keine Grenzen gesetzt, sie immer wieder aufs Neue angeregt werden. Das Publikum erwartet eine wohlige, sich langsam entwickelnde Klangfläche, die zum Versinken einlädt. Aber nicht nur der mannigfaltige Klang der viereckigen Bassblockflöten soll dabei im Zentrum stehen, sondern auch das Erleben des Raumes selbst. PLENUM bietet dem Publikum die Möglichkeit, das Stück von unterschiedlichen Hör-Orten aus wahrzunehmen und das Hör-Erlebnis auch selbst zu beeinflussen.